Freelance Writers Have To Have Thick Skin


When you make the choice to become a freelance writer it is very important that you know what you are getting yourself into. You can make a lot of money when you become a work at home mom but you also need to be prepared to take criticism from both angles as well. If you are not someone who has thick skin I am going to tell you straight like it is you are not going to last.

Writing
Writing (Photo credit: jjpacres)

Clients

When you decide you want to become a work at home mom or more specifically a freelance writer you better be ready to run into people who just do not like your work. It does not mean that your writing is automatically bad. What it means is that your writing style is not a match for them. I have had clients who have not liked my work, while others have loved it and recommended me to others. I am sure that any other freelance writer will tell you the same thing. When you do run into a client that does not like your work the best thing to do is just keep your head up and not dwell too much on why they did not like your writing or why you were not hired for that position. Trust me, some clients can lay on the criticism pretty bad yet it is important to remain professional at all times.

Friends, Relatives, and Others in Your Life

As many work at home moms already know, when you make the decision to start working from home you cannot expect those who are a part of your life to support your decision – even those who you thought you were very close to. You will constantly hear them telling you that you need to, “Get a real job” or “You need to stop playing on the computer”. No one ever seems to understand that we work as hard as people who work out of the home – if not harder. Some of the people who you have in your life can lay on the criticism pretty hard as well. However, you just have to brush what they say off and keep striving to better your freelance writing career.

Overall, freelance writers really have one of the hardest jobs in the world. We have to keep ourselves motivated to write while constantly being criticized from every angle possible. Would you say that you agree that freelance writers have to have thick skin to be able to make a successful career online writing? Feel free to share your thoughts on the topic in the comments below.

4 thoughts on “Freelance Writers Have To Have Thick Skin

  1. I totally agree – most people dont realize how much work it is! Child raising and Homemaking are full-time jobs already, – add in blogging/writing and you can get so overloaded!

  2. When I first started blogging people treated me badly and thought I was playing. But now they are finally figuring out how much work it is.

  3. I agree with you! I have a blog and I’m so use to people cutting me down and acting as if I”m just playing on the computer. It does hurt my feelings, but I love what I do and would never stop.

Leave a Reply

