3 People All Freelance Writers Should Follow


If you want to be a successful freelancer it is important to know who is influential in the industry and who is not. Many successful freelancers are very influential in Twitter and they have a large following on their blog as well. Over the past couple of months I have been checking out what others have been doing in hopes to be able to take something from their career and apply it to my own. The people that I list below are the ones who share the best information and offer the best advice to freelancers who are trying to take their careers to the next level.

Image representing Twitter as depicted in Crun...
Image via CrunchBase

@Carol Tice

If you are someone who is in the writing industry you must have heard of Carol Tice. She is one of the most influential writers in the online community. She is best known for the valuable information she shares in her group the Freelance Writers Den and she is also known for her website Make a Living Writing where she has captivating titles that are sure to leave you wondering around her site for hours. I highly suggest subscribing to her blog as well. She often shares valuable information that is available to her subscribers only. Did I mention that she wears the label “work at home mom”. Boy, this woman sure is my idol.

@Angela Hoy

Angela Hoy is someone who I recently started paying more attention to. I had heard about her in the past via Whispers and Warnings but I kind of brushed her off. However, this was a huge mistake. Angela is the owner of Writers Weekly and there is so much valuable information available there. A few months ago I even was accepted to write a success story there. If you are interested you can check it out here. Angela not only shares valuable information with fellow writers but she also alerts freelancers of who they need to be aware of in the industry (scammers) and provides higher paying job leads. Another person’s subscription list that you want to make sure you are on.

@Jon Morrow

Jon Morrow is one of the newer people that I just found about last month – thanks to Carol Tice. He is the associate editor at CopyBlogger. Now this is a man who makes an unbelievable amount of money off his writing. He recently held an online webinar where he spilled some secrets that could turn any writer’s career into a success. If you are a work at home mom who wants to be able to spend more time with your children while also making a full time income this is the man to follow.

If I had a choice of whom my mentor would be you can guarantee it would be one of these three. So, go ahead and get on over to their websites and Twitter pages and start taking notes from the pros.

Do you think someone else should have made the list? Feel free to share in the comments section below.

14 thoughts on “3 People All Freelance Writers Should Follow

  1. Great post! Thank you for the list!

    I found you on the First Friday link party and I do have a suggestion. Sophie Lizard ( @sophielizard ) is an amazing freelance blogger and expert in the business, She would definitely be considered my mentor and a go-to person for everything freelance blogging! Again, great post. Thanks for sharing!

      1. Well…girlfriend! You should put it at the front of this list and let Tumblr or something else disappear under ‘more,’ I say. Twitter is THE #1 platform for promoting blogs, in my experience.

      2. I agree it shows fine on my other blog but this one is different. I may have to switch to a different plug in. I will get it straight though 🙂

Leave a Reply

