Squidoo Update


Image representing Squidoo as depicted in Crun...
Image via CrunchBase

A month or so ago I wrote a blog post about Squidoo. At the time it seemed like a good source of income for residential income yet now my feelings have changed. Since joining Squidoo has made some changes to a few of their guidelines – some for the good others I don’t quite understand. So, Squidoo is something that I will be putting on the back burner for now.

Why Squidoo Isn’t For Me Right Now

 

First, I want to say that residential income is great because it allows us to make money indefinitely with little effort once it is up and running. However, for me I think it is best for me to concentrate on Yahoo Contributor. Squidoo abruptly made changes and even though none of my lenses have been flagged yet it is kind of too much for me. Changes can be good but when they just come out of nowhere I don’t really like it too much. I feel as though for me to make a decent amount of income through Squidoo I would have to treat it like a full time writing client which is something that just cannot happen at the moment. Since I cannot guarantee that I will make x amount of money each month it is something that I cannot risk as bills and things are not going to wait.

Can Squidoo Work For You?

Honestly, I would recommend Squidoo for those who do not earn all of their income from writing. It can also be good for those who are just starting out and need to have some samples on hand for clients. However, to be honest, in my opinion, in order for you to make a full time income off of Squidoo I think it would take about 40 hours a week working on your lenses and promoting them heavily. If that is something that you can commit to it may work out in your favor then again it may not.

What Are Your Thoughts?

What are your thoughts about the new Squidoo updates or Squidoo in general? Please feel free to share in the comments section below. I have been looking around the web and I have noticed that many Squidoo users have had a change in thoughts about Squidoo. What is your stance?

5 thoughts on “Squidoo Update

  1. I’m still with Squidoo and none of my lenses were flagged. As long as you write topics that are informative, not part of SquidDon’t topics, lenses are not thin and spunned, you don’t have much to worry about. I’m still going to stick with Squidoo and will creating a new lens soon.

      1. Really that is interesting. I always thought the readers wanted the content first not to be hit with items to buy..Maybe the changes are for the best.

  2. I totally agree. I built some lenses on Squidoo but when their rules changed, my lenses were flagged and they are now hidden from the search engines. I recommend HubPages for a similar website but one that is a lot better run and easier to use 🙂

Leave a Reply

