10 Days Left In April – Another Update


Today I decided I wanted to take a peek at my finances and goals and see what I need to be focusing on before the end of the month. Well, so far things are looking okay. I am a little over half way to my financial goal and I have also cross off a lot of other things on my goal list. These next ten days are going to be very busy for me and I am looking forward to seeing what I am able to achieve in this short amount of time.

How I Stay Inspired To Work from Home

When first starting to work from home I was scammed averaged about $500 a month and experienced so many things during the very first month that I should have given up. However, I keep pushing and that $500 a month made its way to being $5000 a month and has gone up and down in between the years. So, whenever I find myself becoming discouraged I just think back to how far I have come in a short amount of time. Not to mention the fact that there is also the fact that bills have to be paid as well.

Time and Money Management

Yesterday I ran across a post from Carol Tice (yes she is my idol and inspiration to push myself to the max) that discussed money management. If you missed it you can check it out here. She discussed a lot of great points and I was able to take a few things from it that can help me advance farther even though some points I do not agree with. For example, saving more and getting paid faster are good points. I save but I could be saving more. Also, there have been times when I have forgotten to invoice clients (yes I am literally that busy to the point that I sometimes forget about invoices). However, paying bills slower is something that I cannot change. I prefer to have my bills paid in advance at least a month ahead. That way ,if I do have a bad month, I don’t have to worry about pulling my hair out about how I am going to pay rent or any other bills.

How Is Your Month Going So Far?

How have things been going for you guys so far? Feel free to share your updates in the comments section below.

7 thoughts on “10 Days Left In April – Another Update

  1. Hi and thanks for the mention!

    Just want to give a couple tips that might help you with your cash flow.

    The first is to stop paying bills a month ahead! There is no financial reward for doing so. Better to build your own savings and earn interest on it than fork it over to companies where it isn’t even due yet! That doesn’t make economic sense. If you like knowing you have that bill cushion, just create an emergency savings with that much in it. You might not need it for months, meanwhile you’re still in control of it and earning a bit of interest instead of those vendors earning from it instead.

    The second is that your Hire Me/Contact page only has a fill-in form. Add a picture of you and an actual email address people could use to get in touch, and you’ll get more client leads and more work.

    Many of us refuse to fill in those forms because we’ve had so many bad experiences where we never get a response to them. And we hesitate to do business with people we can’t see. The Internet is a very anonymous place, and showing your picture helps people relate and see that you are a real person and not a scam.

    I see you’re relying on very low-earning writing methods such as Yahoo and Squidoo — having a stronger contact form will help you move up to finding your own clients who you can command higher rates from.

    Best of luck with it!

    1. Carol,
      Thanks for stopping by. I love your blog and whenever I catch a really good article I have to share it with my readers.
      I do like your advice on making an emergency savings account because that does help earn interest while still insuring that I have my bills paid. However, with the credit cards would you suggest paying them off in advance to keep them from making interest on me?
      Thanks for the advice on the contact form. I will work on that between today/tomorrow. I get a few leads through their but not many which is probably due to the missing items that you pointed out.
      However, regarding Yahoo and Squidoo I am just experimenting with them. They in no way are my main source of income at this time. Most of my income comes in from Private Clients. Here is my last month’s income report.

      1. Well that’s good to hear on Yahoo/Squidoo! I think those don’t turn out to be substantial earners for most.

        If you have credit card debt, paying it off to avoid interest charges is definitely wise — I don’t think of that as prepaying but simply paying in full rather than paying on time. If you have more than one card, pay the minimum on all but one while you pay down the one with the highest interest rate rather than trying to send some to each. Once that’s gone, proceed to the next one.

        Also, sometimes you’ll get offers to consolidate your credit card balances by writing a check from one card over to the other one — do that if there isn’t a big fee. It’s always better to have that in just one debt, as it reduces your chance to a bill slipping by and having overdue fees.

      2. Carol,

        Thanks for the advice. They aren’t debts I just have two credit cards in hope of building credit. I have no credit and want to be able to purchase a home next year and I had read credit cards were a good way to start building credit.

  2. I dramatically changed my lifestyle last month in a last ditch effort to pull together the $$ to attend a blog conference and I was AMAZED how much I saved in a very short time. Apparently, I was frittering my money away like an idiot. Even though I easily met my goal of enough to got to my conference, I’m keeping the new lifestyle. I like that I will be able to afford to go on a vacation this summer, maybe do some remodelling and be well ahead of the game saving for Christmas. I thought I was “broke”, turned out I was just really irresponsible. It was a great wake up call!

    1. I love your story, Jodi — so many of us are in your boat. We don’t know where our money is going because we’ve never tracked it. The first time I did 3 months of tracking our expenses, I about had a heart attack when I saw what our food bill was. We made a few tweaks and presto — we were saving several hundred dollars a month.

Leave a Reply

